Site Information

 Loading... Please wait...

Stages of Grief

There are said to be seven stages of grief and where it is not an exact science and no two people grieve the same, knowing the stages and making your way through each one will eventually help you put your grief to rest and live a fulfilled life. Everlasting Memories has a number of resources and products that may help you through particular stages of your grief and we encourage you to peruse our online help articles to answer any questions you may have. Understand that these seven stages is a very loose interpretation and that you may or may not experience all seven.

The initial stage of grief is denial. When tragedy strikes it can be difficult to comprehend the loss, the overwhelming sadness and the despair. You will often find that individuals in the depths of grief are overcome with the inability to process what has taken place and are typically in a state of shock. This initial stage of grief can last anywhere from several days to weeks at a time.

The next stage of grief is a sense of pain and sometimes guilt. The loss that you experienced is fully comprehended at this time and the pain and subsequent guilt you may feel can be overwhelming. It is extremely important that if you are the one grieving or if you have a loved one that is grieving that you allow yourself to feel the pain and recognize the pain comes from the grieving process. You may feel scared and experience a lot of roller coaster emotions during this stage of the grieving process.

The second stage of grief can bring feelings of:

  • Pain
  • Guilt
  • Extreme sadness

Anger encompasses stage three of the grieving process and it is during this time that you may find yourself bargaining in order to bring your loved one back or to get back what you lost. This can be a release of the pent up emotions that you have been holding in but it also can be a time of lashing out at those you love. Awareness is important at stage three so that you don't permanently damage existing relationships with angry outbursts.

The fourth stage of grief is depression. You have gone through the shock and denial and pain of loss and have lashed out to release the emotion. Feeling empty and bereft and listless is very typical and it is at this time that a support system and any additional help is necessary! This stage can take weeks or months to go through and it is important to give yourself that time to heal and grieve for your loss.

There does come a point when you begin to move forward and this turn is the fifth stage of grief. You will typically start to make plans and become more organized and have some peace with your loss. This does not mean that you have forgotten your loved one, only that you are beginning to accept the loss that you have experienced. It is at this time that you might consider a cremation pendant that can be filled with a memory of your loved one. This tangible reminder might bring you the final measure of comfort and peace you're looking for.

The sixth and seventh stages of grief revolve around acceptance and moving forward and a sense of hope about the future. You will have come to grips with your loss and will be moving in the direction of being okay with starting anew. This is not an instantaneous happiness necessarily but eventually you will be able to remember your loved one without experiencing the pain and heartache that you initially felt. Anticipation for the future and living with a sense of peace and serenity will follow and you can find the joy and laughter in life once again.